Galveston, Texas Assault Defense Lawyers
If you have been arrested for an assaultive offense in Galveston County, Texas, it is crucial that you contact an experienced Galveston, Texas assault defense lawyer. Depending on the type of assault and the person you are alleged to have assaulted, the penalties of a conviction for assault can be extremely severe. If you have been charged with assault causing bodily injury to a family member (ACBI-FV) in Galveston County, Texas, it is crucial that you contact hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer to represent you on your case. Call the criminal defense lawyers at Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC today.
If you have been charged with assault in Galveston County, Texas, contact the criminal defense lawyers at Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC today.
In Texas, a person commits an assault if the person (1) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse, (2) intentionally or knowingly threatens another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse; or (3) intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative. An assault is a Class A misdemeanor. Misdemeanor assault carries a punishment of up to one year (1 year) in the county jail and up to a four thousand dollar ($4,000) fine.
An assault against a family member in Texas is a Class A Misdemeanor, unless you have two prior convictions of assault on a family member. Even as a Class A Misdemeanor, if you are convicted of assault on a family member (ACBI-FV) (Assault Causing Bodily Injury – Family Violence) it will be illegal for you to ever own or transport a firearm.
An assault is a felony of the third degree if the offense is committed against: (1) a person the actor knows is a public servant while the public servant is lawfully discharging an official duty, or in retaliation or on account of an exercise of official power or performance of an official duty as a public servant, (2) a family member if: (A) it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant has been previously convicted of an assault on a family member I the past, or (B) the offense is committed by intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly impeding the normal breathing or circulation of the blood of the person by applying pressure to the person’s throat or neck or by blocking the person’s nose or mouth.
An assault is also a felony of the third degree if it is committed against a police officer while the police is engaged in performing police duties, a person the actor knows is a security officer and the assault is committed while the officer is performing a duty as a security officer, or a person the actor knows is emergency services personnel and the assault is committed while the person is providing emergency services.
If you are charged with causing serious injury or using a weapon while committing assault, the charges are stepped up significantly. Aggravated assault is a felony of the second degree and the statutory range of punishment is two to twenty years (2-20 years) in a Texas prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Aggravated assault can be a felony of the first degree in some cases of domestic violence or if the assault was committed against a public official, security guard, informant, or witness to a crime. The statutory range of punishment for aggravated assault (first degree felony) is five years to life (5-life) in a Texas prison.