It’s that time of year again. Go Topless Jeep Weekend has arrived. Go Topless Jeep Weekend, also known as simply Jeep Weekend, is an annual beach party that is held in Galveston County a weekend or two after Mother’s Day. Jeep Weekend began as a small event involving Jeep owners and enthusiasts. They would take the tops off their jeeps and cruise area beaches in the Bolivar Peninsula, such as Crystal Beach. Since then, it has grown into a wild beach party involving tens of thousands of Jeep lovers. Public safety officials must prepare for it like they are preparing for a holiday weekend.
According to ABC 13 KTRK-TV in Houston, last year’s Jeep Weekend ended in chaos, leading to several arrests and injuries. Reportedly, by the time the weekend was over, there had been 232 arrests, including arrests for public intoxication and driving while intoxicated (DWI). Last year’s chaos continued a trend. In the past 5 years, Jeep Weekend has seen a spike in popularity. In 2020, despite the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, authorities had to clear out Crystal Beach, because Jeep Weekend grew out of control. In 2021, Texas Search and Rescue along with 60 Galveston County deputies and 15 state troopers patrolled the beaches in an effort to maintain order.
What Penalties Can I Face If I’m Arrested for DWI in Texas?
A DWI arrest can ruin your life. In an instant, your Jeep Weekend experience can turn into a nightmare if you’re not careful. In Texas, the penalties for a DWI conviction can include the following:
- First Offense - From 72 hours to up to 180 days in jail, license suspension for up to a year, and up to $2,000 in fines.
- Blood Alcohol Concentration Over .15 – You can be charged with DWI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher (or if law enforcement observation determines you are impaired). If your BAC is over .15, you can face fines of up to $4,000 in addition to jail time and license suspension.
- DWI with a Passenger Under 15 – If you are convicted of DWI and you had a passenger under 15 in your vehicle at the time, you can face license suspension, up to two years in jail, and up to $10,000 in fines.
- DWI with Prior Convictions – If you have two prior DWI convictions and you are convicted of DWI for a third time, you can face up to 10 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
For more information about DWI arrests, and what to do if you are facing DWI charges, click here.
Facing DWI Charges? Contact Our Criminal Defense Attorneys Today
If you are facing DWI charges, you need a lawyer on your side who is knowledgeable, experienced, skilled, and has a history of success. At Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC, we bring all that to the table and more. We have over 70 years of combined legal experience and our local attorneys know the system like the back of their hand. We are trained on field sobriety tests, blood tests, and breath tests, and as former prosecutors, we understand how the prosecution thinks and can defend you against their tactics at every turn.
From the moment you become our client, we will fight for you and protect your rights like we would if it were us or someone we love in the same situation. We will be with you every step of the way and do everything within our power to secure a favorable outcome for you. We have a history of successful case results, including thousands of cases won, and we are eager to add you to that list.
To learn more about Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC, check out our reviews.
If you need to speak with our Galveston DWI attorneys about your situation, contact us online or give us a call at (409) 204-5566. We are available for calls 24/7. Se Habla Español.