Texting while driving is now illegal in Texas

Staring today, September 1, 2017, texting while driving is illegal in Texas.

What you need to know:

  • The law seeks to target people who are on their phones while driving.
  • Police will be on the lookout for drivers whose heads are down and who are swerving.
  • If a driver is stopped at a red light or pulled over on the side of the road it is not a violation to be looking at a phone because they are not “operating a vehicle” in that moment.
  • Cellphones may be used for GPS navigation and music while driving.
  • Using a cell phone while driving to report an “emergency” is okay.
  • The penalty for a first offense is $100 and up to $200 for a subsequent offense.
  • If you cause and accident while texting you could face a Class A Misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to a year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.

Click below to share this post!


Our Galveston, Texas Lawyers are Ready to Represent You!

Full Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Phone Number (required)

Subject (required)

Briefly Describe Your Case (required)