Galveston Golf Cart DWI Lawyer
Arrested for Operating a Golf Cart Under the Influence in Texas?
The warmer temperatures in Galveston and other parts of Texas makes golfing a year-round sport. Golfers often consume alcohol while playing 18 holes with a group of close friends, family members, employers and fellow employees, and potential clients. Although driving a golf cart after having a few drinks doesn’t seem inappropriate, it is possible such behavior may lead to a DWI arrest.
If you have been arrested for driving a golf cart while intoxicated in Galveston, Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC can provide you with an effective and aggressive defense strategy to obtain the most favorable results in your case, whether it’s a reduction of the sentence and penalties you face or the dismissal of your entire case. We can review your case and determine all your legal options, so do not hesitate to let us help you get your life back on the right course.
Call (409) 204-5566 to schedule your free initial consultation today.
Driving a Golf Cart Drunk Can Lead to Serious Criminal Penalties
You don’t need a license or proof of insurance to drive a golf cart within two miles of a golf course or within a gated community, only if it’s on public roads with a maximum speed limit of 35 mph. However, suspicious behavior while operating a golf cart may draw attention to law enforcement officials, who will make the driver undergo a well being check and check for the presence of alcohol or intoxication.
Just like motor vehicles, the same blood alcohol content (BAC) limit of .08 percent applies to DWI involving golf carts. A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum 180-day jail term, driver’s license revocation for up to one year, and a fine no more than $2,000. But if your BAC limit is at least .15 percent—nearly double the legal limit—a first DWI can become a Class misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year and a maximum $4,000 fine.
Lastly, it is possible to face felony charges for a golf cart DWI. If the offense involves a serious bodily injury, you could be charged with a third-degree felony, which results in a maximum 10-year prison term, driver’s license suspension for up to two years, and a fine no more than $10,000.
Call (409) 204-5566 to Request a Free Case Review
Our Galveston Golf Cart DWI Attorney can investigate your arrest, gather and assess, and determine if the police violated your rights or if the prosecution’s argument contains any weaknesses. Do not hesitate to let us protect your rights, reputation, and future throughout the legal process.
For more information, contact us today to discuss your case.
The Zendeh Del DifferenceSix Benefits That Set Us Apart
More Than 70 Years of Combined Experience
High-Quality & Personalized Service
Thousands of Cases Won
Local Attorneys Who Know The System
Available for Calls 24/7
Trained on Field Sobriety Tests, Breath Tests, and Blood Tests