Galveston Assault & Battery Defense Lawyers
Aggressive, Knowledgeable & Skilled Assault and Battery Defense
In Texas, assault and battery are simply charged under the umbrella of “assault.” Both misdemeanors and felony charges fall under this category.
If you are facing assault charges of any kind, your first priority should be to contact Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC to speak with a Galveston assault and battery attorney about your case. Our Galveston assault lawyers have handled hundreds of cases involving assault and related criminal charges.
Arrested for assault? Call us at (409) 204-5566 for a free case consultation today or contact us through our online request form.
What Is the Law on Assault in Texas?
Under Texas Penal Code – Sec. 22.01. ASSAULT.
(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
(1) intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another, including the person’s spouse;
(2) intentionally or knowingly threatens another with imminent bodily injury, including the person’s spouse; or
(3) intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another when the person knows or should reasonably believe that the other will regard the contact as offensive or provocative.
If you have been arrested for an assault offense in Galveston County, Texas, it is crucial that you contact an experienced Galveston, Texas assault lawyer. Depending on the type of assault and the person you are alleged to have assaulted, the penalties of a conviction for assault can be extremely severe. Assaults can range from misdemeanors to felonies. It is crucial that you hire an experienced Galveston assault and battery lawyer to represent you on your case. Ensure that your case is handled by a criminal defense lawyer who has the knowledge and experience needed for optimum results. Contact Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC as soon as possible.
What are the Different Types of Assault in Texas
Assault involves the threat of injury and actual bodily injury to another that is done knowingly and intentionally. This means that you can be arrested for merely threatening another with imminent bodily harm without actually having touched the alleged victim.
The various types of assault in Texas include:
- Misdemeanor assault, including Class C, Class B, and Class A misdemeanors
- Third-degree felony assault
- Aggravated felony assault, charged as second- or first-degree assault
- Domestic violence assault
What is Simple Assault?
Simple assault occurs when you threaten someone or touch them in a provocative or offensive matter. This is charged as a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500. When the victim of assault is a family member, person you are dating, or public servant, it is charged as a third-degree felony carrying penalties of 2 to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Aggravated assaults involve the use of a deadly weapon or serious bodily harm to the victim and are punishable by up to 20 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
If you are facing charges for assault in Texas, contact us today to start discussing your defense. We are available 24/7 at (409) 204-5566.
The Zendeh Del DifferenceSix Benefits That Set Us Apart
More Than 70 Years of Combined Experience
High-Quality & Personalized Service
Thousands of Cases Won
Local Attorneys Who Know The System
Available for Calls 24/7
Trained on Field Sobriety Tests, Breath Tests, and Blood Tests