Galveston Motorcycle DWI Lawyers
Call (409) 204-5566 for Experienced DWI Defense in Texas
Although most people are arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas while driving a car or truck, many others have been charged with this crime while operating a motorcycle. Unfortunately, motorcycle riders receive plenty of bias, especially from law enforcement officials. Since a DWI conviction is punishable by harsh penalties, it is imperative for motorcyclists to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer and try to avoid serious criminal charges.
If you have been arrested for a motorcycle DWI in Galveston, Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC can protect your rights and freedom. With more than eight decades of collective experience and thousands of cases won, our legal team has a thorough understanding of the criminal justice system to guide you through the legal process and help you obtain the best possible outcome.
Contact us today to discuss your case with our Galveston motorcycle DWI attorneys.
Texas Motorcycle DWI Laws & Penalties
According to state law, it is illegal to operate a car, truck, motorcycle, boat, or any other motor vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol or other drugs. The current blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in Texas is .08 percent, unless you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) since the limit for CDL holders is .04 percent.
The following are several cues—based on National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) guidelines—police officers look out for before pulling over a suspected drunk motorcyclist:
- Turning difficulties
- Balancing issues
- Dismounting problems
- Drifting during turn
- Failing to pay attention to the surroundings
- Erratic movements while traveling straight
- Riding without lights in the dark
- Failing to follow traffic signals and signs
- Riding the wrong way
- Evading a police officer
A first DWI offense in Texas is considered a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum 180-day jail sentence, fines worth no more than $2,000, and driver’s license suspension for up to 365 days. However, if your BAC is at least .15 percent—nearly double the legal limit—a first-time DWI can be charged as a Class A misdemeanor, which can result in a jail term of up to one year and a maximum $4,000 in fines.
Request a Free Case Review Today
Our Galveston motorcycle DWI attorneys can review your case, collect evidence, and determine if the arresting officer violated your rights or if there are any weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case. Our goal is to either get your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced to avoid spending time behind bars. Do not hesitate to let our firm fight for you throughout the legal process.
Call (409) 204-5566 to learn more about our legal services today.
More Than 80 Years of Combined Experience
High-Quality & Personalized Service
Thousands of Cases Won
Local Attorneys Who Know The System
Available for Calls 24/7
Former Prosecutors / Retired Judge
Trained on Field Sobriety Tests, Breath Tests, and Blood Tests