Your Experienced Legal Team | Se Habla Español 
With You Every Step of the Way Fighting for Your Rights
  • Super Lawyers
  • Houston Chronicle
  • H Texas Magazine
  • KHOU11
  • Galveston County Daily News
  • CNN
  • TexasMonthly
  • People love us on Yelp!
  • NADC
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • Houstonia
/

Galveston BWI Defense Attorneys

Call (409) 204-5566 for Award-Winning & Experienced Legal Representation

During the warm summer months, many Texans and visitors from other states flock to the bays and lakes throughout Texas to enjoy the cool water and even operate and ride boats. Sometimes, boat passengers and operators consume alcohol during their time in the water. Unfortunately, operating a watercraft while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs is against Texas law.

If you have been arrested for boating while intoxicated (BWI), Zendeh Del & Associates, PPLC is ready to protect your rights, future, and freedom from conviction. Attorney Jonathan grew up on boats and being in the water every weekend, which is why he understands the laws on both land and water. With more than three decades of combined experience and thousands of cases won, our Galveston BWI defense lawyers can help you obtain the best results possible.

BWI Penalties in Texas

BWI and DWI are essentially the same crime. While one can happen in a body of water, the other can occur on the road.

A first-time BWI is often charged as a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum 180-day jail sentence and a fine of up to $2,000. If the offense involved serious bodily injury to another person, the BWI is elevated to a third-degree felony, punishable by a maximum ten-year prison term and a fine no more than $10,000. If the offense involved another person’s death, it is a second-degree felony, which results in a maximum 20-year prison term and a fine not exceeding $10,000 upon conviction.

If a person commits a BWI after being convicted of a BWI or DWI offense before, it is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum one-year jail term and a fine of up to $4,000. A third BWI after being convicted of two prior BWI or DWI offenses is a third-degree felony.

Each offense is also punishable by driver’s license suspension for six months or up to one year.

Ready to Discuss Your Case Today

Due to the harsh penalties upon conviction, it is imperative to hire a skilled lawyer to fight for you. Do not hesitate to let our legal team either get your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced.

Contact us at (409) 204-5566 today and request a free consultation.

The Zendeh Del Difference

Six Benefits That Set Us Apart
  • More Than 30 Years of Combined Experience
  • High-Quality & Personalized Service
  • Thousands of Cases Won
  • Local Attorneys Who Know The System
  • Se Habla Español
  • Available for Calls 24/7

Schedule a Free Consultation

Filling out a form does not create an attorney-client relationship.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Case Results

  • Case Dismissed DWI with BAC greater than 0.15
  • Case Dismissed DWI
  • Case Dismissed DWI
  • Case Dismissed DWI
  • Case Dismissed DWI
  • Case Dismissed DWI
  • Case Dismissed Marijuana Possession
  • Case Dismissed Cocaine Possession
  • Case Reduced DWI
  • Case Reduced DWI
/