Galveston Domestic Violence Attorneys
Trial-Tested in Criminal Defense
A domestic violence accusation in Texas can have many negative effects on your life, from criminal penalties to the loss of your reputation and potential loss of child custody rights. Because of this, it is imperative that you retain capable legal representation to protect your rights and pursue what is in your best interests. Domestic violence accusations often arise in highly-charged situations, such as those involving the breakdown of a relationship or marriage, custody and visitation disputes, and more. As a result, these accusations can be exaggerated, misleading, and just plain false.
If you are facing domestic violence allegations, we urge you to turn to Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC for reputable and competent legal support. Our Galveston domestic violence lawyers have the skills, knowledge, and resolve to help you seek the best possible outcome. We are trial-tested and recognized as Top 100 Trial Lawyers by the National Trial Lawyers and have been listed as Texas Super Lawyers®.
Facing domestic violence charges in Texas? Reach out to us at (409) 204-5566 for a free case analysis.
What Is Domestic Violence in Texas?
Domestic violence consists of abusive behavior on the part of a household member against another household member for the purpose of controlling the relationship.
Domestic violence can involve:
- Unmarried parents
- Dating partners
- Family members
In Texas, domestic violence is legally referred to as “assault family violence.” The most common level of this offense is charged as a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in prison and/or a fine of up to $4,000. In most cases, a temporary restraining order is also issued by the court that prohibits any type of contact with the alleged victim until the case has been fully resolved. Where serious bodily injury has occurred, the charge will likely become a felony with a lengthier prison sentence and stiffer fines.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Texas
In the state of Texas, the possible penalties for domestic violence include:
- Class A misdemeanor – A $4,000 fine and / or up to one year in jail
- Third degree felony – A $10,000 fine and 2 to 10 years in prison
- Second degree felony – A $10,000 fine and 2 to 20 years in prison
- First degree felony – A $10,000 fine and 5 to 99 years in prison
In addition to the above penalties, restitution may have to be paid to the victim if you are convicted of simple assault. Restitution can include replacement of damaged property, counseling or medical treatment.
Talk to Our Domestic Violence Attorney at Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC
Because of the damage that a domestic violence conviction can have on your freedom, future, and social relations, you need strong representation. Our firm is standing by to use all of our combined experience, skills, and commitment on your behalf.
If you are facing charges for domestic violence in Texas, call (409) 204-5566 for the legal assistance you need today.
The Zendeh Del DifferenceSix Benefits That Set Us Apart
More Than 70 Years of Combined Experience
High-Quality & Personalized Service
Thousands of Cases Won
Local Attorneys Who Know The System
Available for Calls 24/7
Trained on Field Sobriety Tests, Breath Tests, and Blood Tests