Galveston, Texas Possession of Marijuana (POM) Defense Lawyers
In Texas, possession of any amount of marijuana is illegal and is an arrestable offense. Possession of marijuana in an amount less than two (2) ounces is a Class B misdemeanor bearing punishment of up to a $2,000 fine and six (6) months in county jail. If you are convicted of possession of more than two (2) ounces and less than four (4) ounces, it is a Class A misdemeanor bearing punishment of up to one (1) year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
If you are convicted in possession of one to five (1 – 5) pounds of marijuana, Texas law mandates a minimum sentence of six (6) months in state jail. This will also be considered a “state jail felony,”
If you are convicted of possessing anything amount of marijuana over five (5) pounds, the law assumes that you are a major trafficker, and the penalties increase to higher degree felonies. Possession of five to fifty (5 – 50) pounds is a third degree felony bearing punishment of two to ten (2 – 10) years and a fine of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000).
What happens if I am convicted of possession of marijuana in Texas?
You can be ordered to confinement in jail or prison and ordered to pay fines. Additionally, any drug conviction in Texas will result in your driver’s license being suspended for up to one year. Don’t go at it alone. Call Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC today.
I have a prescription card for marijuana in my state. Can I bring “legal marijuana” to Texas?
No. Texas does not recognize or acknowledge any form of medical marijuana and does not grant reciprocity to out of state “prescription cards” for marijuana.
Should I hire a Galveston, Texas Marijuana Lawyer?
Absolutely. If you have been arrested in Galveston, Texas for possession of marijuana, you should hire experienced possession of marijuana lawyers as soon as possible. The lawyers at Zendeh Del & Associates, PLLC are experienced marijuana defense lawyers who will fight for your rights. Don’t go at it alone, call today.